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November 18, 2011 - ~ RE: WAYNE COUNTY
- ~ OPEN BURNING

Randy and Linda Roach
19163 Edwards Road
Doylestown, Ohio 44230

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Roach:

The open burning which was conducted at 19163 Edwards. Road, Chippewa Twp., Ohlo
is in violation of Chio's air pollution regutatlons and prompt action needs to be taken.

Cease Burning

Immediately cease all bum;ng for waste disposal purposes and find an-alternate means
of disposal.

On November 10, 2011, this office received a complaint allegmg that the burning of
leaves took place at your property on November 8, 2011. On November 14, 2011, |
obtained. “fire incident reports” from the Chippewa Townshsp Fire Departmen‘t statmg
that illegal open burning of leaves had occurred at your residence on November 8
2008, October 18, 2009 and again on November 8, 2011,

On November 16, 2011, | attempted to speak to you regarding this matter. No one was

-present and a copy of the Open Burning Reguiat;ons along with my business card was
piaced at your door.

Please be advised that OAC Rule 3745-19-04, “Open burning ‘in unrestricted areas’
states in part, “No person shall cause or aliow iliegal open burning.” Open burnmg for
waste disposai purposes is strictly prohibited. _

Bonfires, campfires, cooking for food, pieasure, religious, ceremonial, warmth or
recreational fires can be legally conducted if the following conditions are met:

7). The fires are fueled with clean seasoned firewood:

2). The fires are not used for Waste disposal purposes; or

3). The fires shall have a total fuel area of three (3) feet or less in dfamefer and two (2}
feet or iess in hefght,
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Please be advised of OAC Rule 3745-18-06, “Open Burning Unilateral Order,” which
authorizes the Director to assess and collect administrative penalties of not more than
two hundred-fifty dollars ($250.00) per day for each separate violation of open burning.
In addition, Section 3704.06, of the Ohio Revised Code, authorizes the Attorney
General to seek penalties of up to twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) for conviction’
of violating the Open Burning Regulations. Each day's violation, after 2 conviction,
constitules a separate offense and will be subject to the penalties as mentionad above.

Finally, be aware that this letier in no way waives the right of the Oh_io EPA to pursue
additional enforcement action. If further violations are reported to this office, we will
have no alternative than to refer this matter 1o our legal staff in Columbus for

appropriate action. We hope that voluntary compliance will be forthcoming and that this
action wili not be necessary. . '

If you have any'questions, please contact me at (330) 963-1209,

| Sincerely, |

. Frank Elchesen
District Representative
Division of Air Pollution Control

FE:bo
pc: Chippewa Twp. Fire Dept.

ec:  Kristopher Weiss, OEPA, CO, PIC
Bob Princic, OEPA; NEDO, DAPC



